The JangleBox

Indie, Noise, Shoegaze… Music

Sea Pinks: Dreaming tracks (CF Records, 2015)

Aunque no lo parezca por la frescura de su sonido, Dreaming Tracks es el cuarto álbum de Sea Pinks, una banda de Belfast que bien podría pasar por tener su base de operaciones en California: Pop florido, Retro-Pop, Pop de guitarras, Jangle-Pop… un bonito abanico de influencias y de géneros que le otorga un cierto eclecticismo a este trabajo, lo cual no le resta ni un ápice de interés.

“Two years on from the widely admired Freak Waves (Lake Superior, A Pattern Recognition), Sea Pinks return with their fourth album, and first to be recorded in a studio with full band, Dreaming Tracks. From the opening cello drone of Dream Happening to epiphanic closer Invisible Lines this a record about disorientation, ambivalence, and the overlapping of past, present and future that can happen in dream states as well as in waking life. It’s also the band’s most ambitious and accomplished record yet, a synesthetic whirl of sound and colour shot through with a rich seam of melancholy, underscored by the addition of cello on six of it’s ten songs.
The easy eclecticism hinted at on previous records comes into full flower here, with each new track distinct from the last yet flowing seamlessly into the next. Throughout the sound is warm and bright with chiming guitars, buoyant drums and languid, fluid bass interwoven with wintry cello, taking in bedsit baroque (Art Imitating Life, Waiting For You…), psych pop (Dream Happening, Meat & Drink), dreamy country (Not Belonging), nature noir (Magpies Eyes), various hybrids of all of the above, and more. Recorded at Start Together studio in Belfast, it’s the first Sea Pinks LP to feature the full band line up of Davey Agnew (drums) and Steven Henry (bass) along with founder singer/guitarist Neil Brogan and cellist Jonny Agnew” (Press)

Facebook / Cómpralo-Purchase

20 mayo, 2015 Posted by | Sea Pinks | Deja un comentario

Sea Pinks: Dead sea (2011)

Dead Seas Cover Art

Tras la publicación de Youth is Wasted y Peripheral vision, ambos del 2010, Neil Brogan, el batería de Girl Names toma en Sea Pinks el micro y las guitarras y editó este pasado 2011 este Dead Sea.
Sea Pinks son una banda que, personalmente, opino que recuerda bastante a su banda “matriz”, Girl Names: Frescura surfera, Jangle-Pop, trazas de Garaje, algo de Folk-Pop y desde luego economía de registros y de medios. Demasiado lineales sus temas, demasiadas semejanzas sonoras en todos los cortes, entre los que emocionalmente me quedo con Fountain Thesserae, Heir apparent, Spiral jetty… Demasiada economía de instrumentos, en cualquier caso, pueden dar lugar a un cierto empacho sonoro, como ocurre con este álbum, en el que me da la sensación de con un par de temas haberlos escuchado todos. Cierto abuso de guitarras chillantes y demasiados tonos agudos para mi gusto.

Sea Pinks – Dead sea (2011)

Sea Pinks are a three piece from Belfast, UK formed in 2010. Singer and guitarist Neil Brogan began to write and record songs as a side project from his other band Girls Names (in which he is the drummer) and put out a cassette album Youth is Wasted, (featuring the single “Japanese Knotweed”) in September 2010 on his own label, CF/Records (releases by High Places, Mt. Eerie, Lucky Dragons, Cloud Nothings). When he started playing live, Brogan recruited the other two members of Girls Names, Claire Miskimmin (drums) and Cathal Cully (Bass), and the three piece have since played a number of shows in Belfast, Dublin and London supporting the likes of Nodzzz, The Mantles (who voted Sea Pinks their favourite support band on their recent european tour), Let’s Wrestle, and WarPaint.
Having garnered great reviews for Youth is Wasted (eg: “A masterclass in melancholic lo-fi pop” – Vice) the band went on to record their first studio EP as a three piece Peripheral Vision, released in January 2011 on 12” vinyl also on CF/ Records. Like the tape, the EP quickly sold out in a matter of weeks. Now, the band return with their second full length album Dead Seas which includes 10 brand new songs as well as Peripheral Vision for those who missed it the first time.
The first song to be taken from the new album is “Fountain Tesserae”, also the opening track of the album and a good indication of the development in sound from the tape-hiss surf pop of “Youth is Wasted” to the murkier waters of “Dead Seas”. While still being rooted aesthetically in 60s garage and 80s indiepop the new songs, as the album title suggests, explore ideas around decay and renewal (both emotional and physical) as embodied by the imagery of the sea and water in general. “Fountain Tesserae”, a “not entirely serious but not entirely unserious” song about a girl who (quite possibly on acid) jumps into a fountain while mistaking a mosaic tile pattern for diamonds, and cracks her head open, is the jumping off point” (

Facebook / Cómpralo-Purchase

1 febrero, 2012 Posted by | Sea Pinks | 1 comentario


A %d blogueros les gusta esto: