The JangleBox

Indie, Noise, Shoegaze… Music

Pulco: Innovation in the trade (2015)

Innovation In The Trade cover art

“It’s funny how albums come together. I’d started with an idea of recording a number of abstract live drum loops as a basis for each song after being inspired again by the awesome rhythms on Captain Beefheart’s Trout Mask Replica.
I knew I’d end up with a set of gnarly off the wall guitar songs and I also made a decision not to use any acoustic guitar either.
I found myself exploring the idea of monologues and short stories and was determined to find a way to include some of these on the album.
During my summer holidays I bought a book of poetry by Adrian Henri in a small bookshop in Aberaeron. His words were perfect for the edgy verbal approach that I had in mind and I’ve actually used loads of his poems for lyrics on the album.
On a musical level a chance thought lead me back to listen again to a Fall CD that I’d never really taken much notice of before. My thoughts also drifted back to the cut & paste song writing approach of Pavement. I think that the sounds of both bands had a big part in the making of Innovation In The Trade.
I terms of an overall direction for the album, the final bridge that I crossed was to immerse myself in a growing love of all things DADA. 
Part of the Dadaist manifesto says – ‘ Reject reason and logic. Prize nonsense, irrationality and intuition’. That makes perfect sense to me. So now pass onward to Innovation In The Trade”

Twitter

24 febrero, 2015 - Posted by | Pulco

Aún no hay comentarios.

Responder

